• Posted on December 22, 2016

Fix Windows 10 Account Notification

Recently I deleted my Microsoft account, but then my Windows 10 computer kept complaining with a notification of “You need to fix your Microsoft Account for apps on your other devices to be able to launch apps and continue experiences on this device.” Because I used a local account on my computer instead of a Microsoft account, I was confused on what I needed to change to get this notification to finally leave me alone. I didn’t want to take the easy route of just disabling account notifications because those notifications might be useful sometime in the future.

After searching online to no avail, I navigated the crazily simplified settings app and finally found what I needed. Below is what worked for me along with additional sets of steps you might want to try if you are getting this same annoying message.

Remove Linked Microsoft Account from Local Account

Below are steps on how to remove a Microsoft account from your computer when you are using a local account. This happens when you create a local account for your computer but then sign into the store or various other apps.

  1. Open up the Settings App
  2. Click on the “Accounts” button.
  3. On the sidebar, click on “Email & app accounts”
  4. If you see a Microsoft account listed under “Accounts used by other apps”, click on it and then click on “Remove.” You may also see similar accounts that you should remove if you no longer use them if they are for other Microsoft products, such as Outlook.

Switch Microsoft Account to Local Account

If you are currently signing in with a Microsoft account but want to switch to signing into a Local Account, the following steps should help. I also suggest trying the below steps if you are getting the same warning about how you need to fix your Microsoft account.

  1. Open up the Settings App
  2. Click on the “Accounts” button.
  3. Under your name, there will be a link that says “Sign in with a local account instead.” Follow the steps that appear and then sign out of your computer.

Hopefully one of the above set of steps helped you out. If you still get this infuriating notification, don’t give up. There will be a way to silence this notification without having it disabled.